Mid-year Best of K-Pop 2017

I had to make a list of my favorite K-Pop songs from 2017. I thought I would share it here as well. I would say it is a pretty diverse list in terms of musical styles but there are only 2 female artists. There are some lesser known artists and even some rookies.

Here are my top 10 in no particular order:

Changmo- Maestro

Changmo is a relatively new rapper and is signed to Dok2’s Ambition Musik. He has become very popular, very fast and it makes sense because his songs are excellent. This track, Maestro is what introduced me to his work. Lately, I see his name every where. His track for Voice OST was one of my favorites. He also collaborated with Hyolyn for a tropical house track, Blue Moon. I also found out that he was recently nominated for a BET award. The guy is going places and I look forward to his work.

Highlight- It’s Still Beautiful

Highlight is my favorite K-Pop group and I already reviewed their entire album, Calling You. It’s Still Beautiful was their pre-release and it was better than anything I could have imagined from the group. The guys have never sounded better.

I’M- Save Me

To be very honest, I had no idea who this guy was until I looked him to write this post. Turns out I’M is the stage name for former Topp Dogg member Seogoong. I don’t know much about Topp Dogg or their music but I am glad this guy is doing solo work. It is not what I would expect from an artists’ solo debut. It is much more interesting and that’s what makes it such a good song.

FTISLAND- Wind

I must admit, I didn’t pay much attention to FTISLAND until I watched one of their members take part in a gaming competition against GOT7. Then I heard, Take Me Now and I was a fan. I cannot believe that a K-Pop group has been together for 10 years and stuck to their roots as a rock group. And as a 10th anniversary song, you need an epic song and Wind fits the bill perfectly.

 

Kriesha Chu- Trouble

She was runner up on K-Pop Star 6. She is one of the cutest K-Pop idols and has a great voice. This is a happy and fun track produced by the awesome, Yong Jun Hyung and Kim Tae Ju duo. This is not their usual style of music but I am very happy to see them do something so different.

 

B.I.G- 1.2.3

It is hard to believe that B.I.G has been around since 2014. They are one of those groups that have never gained much recognition. But they keep coming back with solid tracks. This is the song that I think should help them gain attention. I am a fan of songs that are truly pop without so much of the hip-hop or EDM influences. 1.2.3 is simple pop at heart with some elements of disco and funk. Definitely their best tack to date.

 

SF9- Easy Love

Having this track on my list just makes me happy because I saw them live at KCon this past weekend. SF9 can definitely be considered successful rookies. They have put out good tracks back to back. It seems like it is essential for new groups to make constant comebacks and remain in the public eye until they are established enough to make 1 release a year. SF9 has definitely gotten noticed and it looks like they are here to say.

 

Jerastar- The Dream in Dreams

This is probably the most interesting song on this list. Another, relatively unknown artist with a unique voice. I don’t know much about the artist except that she is the singer-songwriter and also writes all her own lyrics. I hope this track gets her plenty of positive reviews so. that she can continue making great music.

 

Crucial Star- You Can Rest (feat. Babylon)

Crucial Star has been around for a really long time. He is rapper and producer. He has done quite a few collaborations and has been a featured artist on plenty of tracks. This is not a typical hip-hop track. This is a much slower track that works perfectly with Crucial Star’s rapping style and for Babylon’s super smooth vocals. The music video is wonderful and adds to the appeal of this song. It is hard to read the lyrics and watch this video without feeling like your heart is being ripped out.

 

Rose- Knock Knock

I have no idea who Rose is. I tried and have not been able to find information on this artist. Knock Knock is his 2017 single release and I found one other track of his, Coffee. I hope to hear more from him. The man’s vocal range is pretty impressive and the song is very reminiscent of Chancellor and maybe even Crush.

 

What are some of the tracks that would make it to your Top 10 list?

3 thoughts on “Mid-year Best of K-Pop 2017

    • I had a chance to look at your list ad I agree we don’t have a single song in common. And I think the main reason is that I do not care for the “tropical house” sounds. It has become so prevalent in K-Pop and I kind of understand why, but personally, I am done with it and ready to move onto the next fad.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Soloists dominate first half of 2017 |

Comments are closed.