K-Pop Favorite: B1A4’s Lonely

A few weeks ago, I talked about BEAST’S Fiction as my favorite K-Pop song. And it is. But I must say that I am greatly biased. It has a special place in my heart because it is the song that made me love K-Pop. If I were to take out that nostalgia part, a song that comes very close is B1A4’s Lonely. From what I understand, it was one of their most popular songs but I don’t think it does not get enough love.

The track is produced by B1A4 leader, Jinyoung. He is one of my favorite idols. I have enjoyed all the music he has created, including girl group tracks. Him and group member CNU have produced pretty much all of their music in the past few years. This has given the group the freedom to create a very unique sound. Their music seems to be far more popular in Korea than among the international audience.

They tend to keep their music focused on the melodies and are less likely to venture into popular K-Pop trends. This means, no tropical house in their latest releases. This makes their songs less popular at the time of release but more likely to withstand the test of time. I enjoy Korean ballads so their tracks are very like-able.

Lonely is more of a mid-tempo ballad. As my friends would say, it is a ballad-with-a-beat. It has all the awesomeness of ballads with some hip-hop elements. I am sucker for songs with a hint of desperation and Lonely does just that. Right from the beginning (and from the title) you know it is going to be something about pain and heartbreak and that’s exactly what it is. The lyrics are nothing special and not impressive even when compared to other break-up ballads.

The song works best when combined with the MV. The song is set in a winter scene which fits well with the theme. Jinyoung, looking beautiful as always, play the heartbroken guy who tries to hold onto a relationship that just does not work out. This is presented by him holding onto, by a string, a girl who would otherwise just float away. He would like her to stay but he knows he will have to give up.

The intensity of the song seems to follow the music video. It is especially evident in the chorus. The first time we hear the chorus, it’s nothing special but with each repetition it the vocals get more intense and desperate. The climax hits right before the last chorus and it does not let us down. It is perfectly fitting for the buildup that we experienced during the rest of the song. It hits you and then lets the chorus take it down a notch to wind up the song. It feels like they have finally come to terns with the break-up despite continuing to feel lonely.

I hope to continue this collection of K-Pop favorites. The first three are easy. You have already been introduced to BEAST’s Fiction and now B1A4’s Lonely. I will try to post the next one next week. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy this great track.

 

Do you have any thoughts on this song? What do you think of B1A4s music in general?

2 thoughts on “K-Pop Favorite: B1A4’s Lonely

  1. Wow this song surprised me. It had more of an upbeat tempo than I expected. Love ballads aren’t usually my type of thing but with this one, I could see myself listening to it over and over again in the future. Makes me curious to give more of their songs a try too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! I am glad you enjoyed this song. Their title track after this one are more mid-tempo. Their b-sides are mostly love ballads. I definitely recommend you listen to Solo Day, it is one of the best K-pop summer tracks.

      Like

Comments are closed.