Breakfast Idea: Baked Oatmeal

I wish I liked oats more than I actually do. Oatmeal porridge is definitely a no go for me. I am very particular about my granola so I no longer bother to find/ make the perfect one. Every time I try muslei, I hope to like it unfortunately I never do. There is always the crisp idea that I posted but I am always looking for variety.

The one oat-based breakfast that I do know I enjoy is baked oatmeal. The first time I ate, a very plain version of this, I realised that it was something I could probably actually enjoy if I modified it.

What is baked oatmeal? It as a baked dish that cooks oats in a custard mixture. Other than the oats, it contains milk and eggs. Any other additions are optional. This means that the possibilities are endless. My favorite addition, as always, is fruit. I have tried it with stone fruits, apples, and bananas. I am sure it would work just as well with berries or pretty much any other fruit you could think of.

Method

Make a custard mixture with milk and eggs. Add vanilla if you desire.

Make a dry ingredient mixture of rolled oats, salt, and a bit of baking powder. Add any spices like cinnamon or nutmeg if you would like.

There should be an equal volume of dry mixture as liquid mixture. In my experience, 2 cups of oats mixed with 1.5 cups of milk and 1 egg makes about 4 servings.

Mix wet and dry ingredients. Add sugar if you so desire.

Use a baking pan or a pie pan. Add fruit to the pan and then cover with oatmeal mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

Allow it to cool for 10 minutes and you will be able to cut the oatmeal into slices. It is enjoyable eaten warm. I eat it with yogurt and sometimes maple syrup.

Baked oatmeal is a very filling breakfast and can be made ahead for a few days at a time. I am going to try and come up with some savory versions of baked oatmeal and will share any good finds.

Do you have any ways in which you enjoy eating oats?